How many states in India are currently being ruled by the BJP?

How many states in India are currently being ruled by the BJP?

Following the 2018 Assembly elections in five states, the BJP and its allies now control governments in 16 of the 29 states in India. BJP lost Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan to Congress and its allies in the recently concluded elections. Notably, the BJP and its allies were in power in 21 states nine months ago. However, many saw the results in Gujarat as an indicator of the BJP’s fading dominance.


2018 had something else in store for the all-powerful party. From broken alliances to winning just one Assembly election throughout the year, the party has a lot of re-thinking to do before 2019.


In Jammu and Kashmir in June, the BJP broke its alliance with the People’s Democratic Party (PDP). And the break-ups kept coming – a day before the counting in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram, RLSP chief Upendra Kushwaha broke away from the NDA, even quitting as a Union minister.

The results in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan seem to prove that the BJP’s disappointing performance in Gujarat was an indicator of a larger disaffection with the saffron party.

Show More

Aditya Singh

Welcome to my personal blog, Aditya Singh is a passionate blogger & a blog scientist. I loves researching about things that helps a blog grow. He is a famous name in Indian bloggers community. My Passion is to write articles on National issues

Related Articles