MNF’s Zoramthanga to be sworn-in as Mizoram CM on December 15

MNF’s Zoramthanga to be sworn-in as Mizoram CM on December 15

Zoramthanga, who was unanimously appointed as the leader of MNF legislature party in Mizoram, will be sworn-in as the Chief Minister on December 15. MNF spokesperson Lena Jongte said the ceremony will take place at the Raj Bhavan in Aizawl. MNF won 26 seats in the 40-member assembly, bringing down Congress to five seats as compared to 34 in 2013.

After the landslide victory on Tuesday, Zoramthanga had met Rajasekharan and staked claim to form the government. However, the governor said he had not received the entire election results from the Election Commission.

Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla had resigned on Tuesday soon after the humiliating defeat of his Congress.

Zoramthanga, who is a former rebel leader-turned-politician, had served as Mizoram CM for two terms from 1998-2008. This election, his MNF had swept the polls winning 26 of the 40 seats. The Congress, which had grabbed 34 seats in the 2013 elections, was reduced to five seats. The Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), which is a conglomerate of some smaller regional parties, had bagged eight seats while the BJP made an entry into the state by winning one seat.

Show More

Aditya Singh

Welcome to my personal blog, Aditya Singh is a passionate blogger & a blog scientist. I loves researching about things that helps a blog grow. He is a famous name in Indian bloggers community. My Passion is to write articles on National issues

Related Articles